House, 39 Flinders Parade
In the latter 19th century, this site was owned by John Daniel, ironmonger, who had a weatherboard house built in 1891. He also had a boat shed built on the foreshore.With his death in 1905, the property was passed on to his son?, Arthur Frederick Daniel, also an ironmonger. He owned the house for about five years, before selling it to Dr A. Sheppard and Mrs Amy Gertrude Grimwade in 1911-12.
The Grimwades carried out extensive alterations and additions to the house at this time. Dr Grimwade was a medical practitioner in Geelong, and he and his wife lived at "Keerie Kara" in Ryrie Street (the site of the present Geelong Private Hospital). At one time Dr Grimwade was commodore of the Royal Geelong Yacht Club, while Mrs Grimwade 'had the unique. distinction of being the only lady member of any yacht club in the
Commonwealth in recognition of her services', for she also shared her husband's enthusiasm for yachting.
The symmetrical, two storey, horizontal weatherboard "loosely" Edwardian style house is characterised by several interlocking gable roof forms. Two projecting flat roofed bay windows with minor gables flank the building, with an original central gable which is penetrated by a recent second storey gable addition. Two early brick corbelled chimneys adorn the roofline. Early decorative features of the design include the worked timber verandah elements, and flying gables to the flanking wings, notably the shingling and worked timber elements.
Picture to be added
Back to Map